IHEYO Events

IHEYO, the International Humanist Ethical Youth Organization, is IHEU’s youth section. IHEU serves as the connecting link between Humanist organisations with young members around the world.

We help young humanists (age 18-35) become and stay connected through our programs and annual events.

PageLines- slideIHEYO.png

With regional presence in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe, we currently have around 20 member organisations that in turn create local programs and important awareness of humanism.

IHEYO welcomes all humanist organizations that have young members to connect with us and become our members. We offer two sorts of membership, full membership and associate membership. Join us as a member organisation.

Our events and programs are made possible with help from our sponsors. Help sponsor IHEYO’s work.


The vision of IHEYO is to give a voice to young humanists within the mission of IHEU. The mission of IHEU is to build and represent the global humanist movement that defends human rights and promotes humanist values worldwide.


To bring into active association youth groups and young humanist individuals throughout the world interested in promoting humanism, as is described in the IHEU Amsterdam Declaration 2002.

Main aims of IHEYO

  • To strengthen humanist youth organisations and youth work.
  • To promote the development of cooperation among member organizations and humanist youth, especially on the international level.
  • To promote circulation of information and expertise among member organizations and humanist youth.
  • To carry out educational and cultural action in order to promote a Humanist vision of cultural, social and ethical values.
  • To represent its members to any and all international governing institutions on all questions related to the organizations purpose.
  • To contribute and give a voice to youth humanism on the international level.
  • To provide training and education.
  • To build organisational capacity.
  • To provide networking and information sharing.


You can find more details about the IHEYO structure by reading our bylaws (item 6.2 under the IHEU bylaws).


According to our bylaws, the IHEYO executive committee is to be composed of at least a president, secretary-general and treasurer. Other posts (up to 12 in total) may be created by the committee, but the general assembly must elect the officials to fill them. The mandate for all current committee members ends on the 2018 general assembly, when the new committee shall be elected.

The IHEYO executive committee is currently composed of 9 officers: the president, secretary general, treasurer, communications officer, and the chairs of each regional working group. Besides the formal committee members (in bold), several other appointed volunteers help us carry out our activities. You can find information about our current administration in more detail below.

IHEYO executive committee

Communications department

  • Anya Overmann (United States) – Communications officer / Humanist Voices editor
  • Ariel Pontes (Brazil) – Webmaster / Humanist Voices editor
  • Scott Jacobsen (Canada) – Humanist Voices editor
  • Penny Komes (United States) – Graphic Designer

African Working Group (AfWG)

  • Roslyn Mould (Ghana) – Chair: africa@iheyo.org
  • Harrison Mumia (Kenya) – East Africa regional representative
  • Violin Namyalo (Uganda) – East Africa regional representative
  • Andrew Nandip (Nigeria) – West Africa regional representative
  • Siyomnqoba Xolo (South Africa) – Southern Africa regional representative

Americas Working Group (AmWG)

  • Ariel Pontes (Brazil) – Chair: americas@iheyo.org
  • Julia Julstrom-Agoyo (United States) – Secretary
  • Alvaro Efrain Aguilar Zanabria (Peru)
  • Anya Overmann (United States)
  • Emily Newman (United States)
  • Scott Jacobsen (Canada)

Asia Working Group (AsWG)

  • Feng Chin Wen (Taiwan, Province of ChinaInformation about why we use this terminology) – Chair: asia@iheyo.org
  • Danielle Hill (Phillipines – HAPI) – Secretary
  • Nabina Maharjan (Nepal – SOCH Nepal) – Treasurer
  • Rana Sattar (Pakistan – Humanist Society Pakistan) – Vice Chair, Central Asia

European Working Group (EWG)

  • Emma Bryce (UK) – Chair: europe@iheyo.org
  • Conrad Brown (UK)
  • James Fogg (UK)